Skip to content

Grades of Mulberry Silk

15 Dec 2022

According to China's national standards, the raw silk is classified into different grades: 6A, 5A, 4A, 3A, 2A, A, B, C, D, E, F and those that cannot be identified. Different grades mean different quality of silk.  

Grade A Silk

Including: 6A, 5A, 4A, 3A, 2A, A, with the grade 6A being the best.
Grade A silk, the best silk, has long threads, contains almost no impurities, and has a pearly white color with a healthy sheen. 
Grade A silk has very little silk lumps.  You'll feel warm all the time. A silk product without lumps can maintain its original silk batting structure, which increases the longevity of the silk.

Grade B Silk

Grade B silk contains more lumps than grade A silk. Grade B silk has some impurities and requires chemicals to make the silk look pearly white. Grade B silk has short threads. Compared to grade A silk, grade B silk feels rough and doesn't have a natural sheen.

Grade C Silk

Grade C silk has short threads, many impurities, a cotton-like texture, and a yellowish color. Actually, grade C silk is the innermost layer of silk. It contains the oil of the silkworm, which makes it look yellow and often has brown spots. 

Grade D, E, F

These are poor quality silk fibers that aren't suitable for silk bedding and silk sleepwear. They're normally used for silk carpets, silk curtains, silk fans, etc.

editor’s picks

Edit Option
Notify Me
Login Close
My Cart (0) Close